VERONIKA BÜHN – PHILOSOPY AND CAREER PATH

Horses and their magic have fascinated me for as long as I can think back.  However, similar to the schooling of a horse, my education was also not linear.  Many years of my life were defined by a great devotion and enthusiasm for horses.  But there were also years during which I travelled to other countries and continents as a backpacker.  During this time, I stayed in the USA and Great Britain for a few months to work and to improve my English.  Following this I decided to pursue a career as a flight attendant.

 

Today I am grateful for the experiences I was able to make while dealing with people and I am happy to be in a position in which I have combined horses and traveling.

 

A special thanks goes to my husband as I know that all my animals are always being taken care of very well when I am away from home.

 

I am now presenting clinics in Germany, South Africa and England and am very happy to have met fantastic people and supporters, of which a few have in the meantime become good friends.



Riding career:

 

During my childhood, my riding instructor passed the correct and respectful handling of horses and a sensitive way of riding on to me.

 

Instead of forcing them into a position and applying pressure, her Arabian horses were ridden without nose bands and without any kind of artificial reins such as side reins.  This also applied to lunging, which was something quite unique even back then.

 

Inspired by the schooling systems of Linda Tellington-Jones and Marc de Broissia (trainer in the Iberian art of riding), these lessons left their mark on me early on as far as my view on horse friendly and classical schooling is concerned.

 

Later on, as a teenager in a riding club in Munich, it was difficult for me to tolerate the pressure to perform which was being applied to both riders and horses.

 

The pressure and the usual training methods were mirrored by many accidents, injuries and aggressive behaviour of both horse and rider.

 

Most of the horses appeared to be unhappy and as if they were ‘switched off’.  Others would often shy, which led to fear and anger in the riders, which in turn was vented on the horses.  This was a vicious circle.  The events I experienced as a participant at local jumping shows also caused me to be put off riding.  As a result, I stopped riding for the time being.

Some time later I started searching for an alternative to the usual training methods and competitive riding.

 

This was followed by years of riding horses of various breeds and exploring greatly varying riding styles.  I made experiences with gaited horses (Icelandic horses), did endurance rides with Arabs, switched to western riding and was given the wonderful chance of having riding lessons with Marc de Broissia on his own horses in the classical Iberian art of riding.

 

Today I am profiting a great deal from these experiences in my own teaching.

 

Later I had my first own horse, a thoroughbred and ex- race- as well as dressage horse.  Due to his physical limitations and bad experiences, he displayed a pronounced resistance toward humans.  As my riding ability had reached its limit, I first and foremost wanted to gain the trust of this horse in order to be able to build him up physically.

 

This was the time at which I met my husband, Jan Henn, and from whom I learnt a completely new approach and way of solving things.

 

This included: horsemanship, liberty work, the natural herd and learning behaviours of horses as well as the correct and respectful handling of horses during daily work.  The transitioning of shod horses to barefoot formed a part of my change of view during this time.

 

Then came clinics with different teachers such as Ray Hunt, Leslie Desmond, Gawani Pony Boy, Alfonso Aguilar and others.  We were unfortunately no longer able to meet the brothers Tom und Bill Torrance themselves but instead we met their pupil, Ray Hunt, who substantially changed the way in which we school horses.

 

During my search for a suitable instructor to combine this knowledge with the classical art of riding, the “dance with the horse as one”, we met Monsieur Philippe Karl (former Ecuyer of the Cadre Noir, French Riding in Saumur and founder of the „École de Légèreté“ - See: www.philippe-karl.com) in 2005.

 

Philippe Karl’s philosophy regarding learning behaviour, a clear and efficient way of proceeding and the constant respect towards the horse is in harmony with our view on horse friendly and meaningful schooling.

 

I visited Mon Karl’s clinics since 2005 as a spectator and eventually I received one of the coveted spots in his instructor training clinics in 2007.



In 2011 I passed all of the individual exams and am now a licensed instructor of the École de Légèreté.

 

The exam consisted of the following individual exams:

 

- performing a kur on my own horse;

- presentation of a pupil at more or less the same level;

- theory presentation regarding a subject which was not chosen in advance; and

- educational theory (riding lesson to an unknown horse and rider combination).

 

To this day I am a participant in the continuing instructor clinics and receive riding lesson from Monsieur Karl personally.


In clinics in Germany and abroad as well as during riding lessons at your own premises I would like to share this knowledge and my experiences with different horse breeds and schooling systems.

 

“… for me, dressage can only be called classical if it is there for every horse, does not require any artificial aids and is useful for every riding discipline, which means also for jumping and outside of the riding arena.” (Philippe Karl, Reiterpraxis 2006)

 

Meine besondere Liebe gilt der klassischen Reitkunst im Sinne der Ecole de Légèreté und dem Unterrichten und Fördern einzelner Reiter und ihren Pferden.

 

„Dressage is both a difficult subject to understand and to appreciate, not because of its complexity, though there is that. But because under all of it is a fundamental simplicity which lives in the heart of the horse.“ -Craig P.Stevens 

 

My wish is to make it possible for every individual to experience the feeling of becoming one with his or her horse in complete lightness.

 

„Good riding is easy for the horse, but difficult for the rider“ - Philippe Karl

 

 

 

A lifetime is not enough to learn how to ride well.

Nevertheless, I want to give my best.

For the horses, for my pupils and for myself.


Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Telefon: +49 (0)163 1769944
E-Mail: info@prohorse.org

 

Sponsoring:

Design by:

Veronika Bühn - philosophie und Werdegang

Pferde und ihre Magie ziehen mich in ihren Bann, seit ich denken kann. Doch ähnlich wie in der Ausbildung eines Pferdes, verlief auch meine Ausbildung nicht linear. Viele Jahre waren geprägt von großer Hingabe und Enthusiasmus für die Pferde.  Aber es gab auch Jahre in denen ich als „Backpacker“ andere Länder und Kontinente bereiste. Auch hielt ich für einige Monate in USA und Großbritannien auf um dort zu arbeiten und die Sprache besser zu lernen.
Im Anschluss an diese Zeit wählte ich meinen Beruf als Flugbegleiterin.

 

Heute bin ich dankbar für die Erfahrungen, die ich im Umgang mit Menschen sammelte und glücklich die Pferde und das Reisen, in Einklang gebracht zu haben.

 

Dank gilt hier insbesondere meinem Mann. Bei ihm weiß ich alle Vierbeiner immer bestens versorgt.

Inzwischen gebe ich Kurse in Deutschland, Südafrika und England und freue mich seither, viele großartige Menschen und Unterstützer kennen zu lernen, von denen einige inzwischen zu guten Freunden wurden.



Reiterlicher Werdegang:

 

Im Kindesalter vermittelte mir meine Reitlehrerin den korrekten und respektvollen Umgang mit Pferden und eine feine Art des Reitens.

 

Anstelle einer erzwungenen Position und dem Ausüben von Druck, wurden Ihre arabischen Pferde ohne Nasenriemen und ohne jegliche Hilfszügel geritten.
Auch an der Longe. Dies war schon für damalige Verhältnisse etwas Besonderes.

 

Angelehnt an die Ausbildungslehren von Linda Tellington- Jones und Marc de Broissia (Ausbilder für iberische Reitkunst), prägte dieser Unterricht schon früh meine Auffassung von pferdegerechter und klassischer Ausbildung maßgeblich.

 

Später fiel es mir als Jugendliche im Münchner Reitverein schwer, den Leistungsdruck sowohl auf uns Reiter, als auch auf die Pferde zu tolerieren.

Der Druck und die gängigen Ausbildungsmethoden spiegelten sich in vielen Unfällen, Verletzungen und Aggressionen bei Pferd und Reiter wieder.

Die meisten Pferde wirkten unglücklich und wie abgeschaltet. Andere scheuten oft, was bei den Reitern zu Angst und daraus resultierender Wut führte, welche wiederum oft an den Pferden ausgelassen wurde. Ein Teufelskreis! Auch was ich als Teilnehmerin örtlicher Springturniere erlebte schreckte mich zunehmend ab. Daraufhin hörte ich erst einmal mit dem Reiten auf.

Einige Zeit später machte ich mich auf die Suche nach einer Alternative zu den gängigen Ausbildungsmethoden und dem Turniersport.

 

Es folgten Jahre auf Pferden unterschiedlichster Rassen und unterschiedlichster Reitweisen. Ich sammelte Erfahrungen mit Gangpferden (Isländer), ging Distanzritte mit Arabern, wechselte zum Western reiten und bekam die großartige Chance von Marc de Broissia auf seinem eigenen Pferden Unterricht in klassisch- iberischer Reitkunst zu erhalten.

 

Von diesen Erfahrungen profitiere ich heute wesentlich in meinem Unterricht.

 

Später folgte mein erstes eigenes Pferd, ein Vollblüter und ehemaliges Renn- und Dressurpferd. Auf Grund seiner körperlichen Defizite und Erfahrungen zeigte er eine massive Abwehr dem Menschen gegenüber. Reiterlich an meine Grenzen gebracht, wollte ich zu allererst das Vertrauen dieses Pferdes gewinnen um ihn auch physisch aufbauen zu können.

 

Dies war der Zeitpunkt als ich meinen Mann, Jan Henn, kennen lernte und von ihm völlig neue Herangehensweisen und Lösungsansätze.

 

Dazu gehörten: Horsemanship, Freiarbeit, das natürliche Herden,-und Lernverhalten von Pferden sowie der korrekte und respektvolle Umgang im Alltäglichen. Auch das Umstellen meines beschlagenen Pferdes auf Barhuf war Teil dieser Zeit des Umdenkens.

Es folgten viele Kurse bei unterschiedlichsten Trainern, wie Ray Hunt, Leslie Desmond, Gawani Pony Boy, Alfonso Aguilar und anderen… die Brüder Tom und Bill Torrance erlebten wir leider nicht mehr selbst, dafür aber ihren Schüler Ray Hunt, der unsere Art Pferde auszubilden maßgeblich veränderte.

 

Auf meiner Suche nach einem geeigneten Ausbilder um dieses Wissen mit der klassischen Reitkunst, dem „Tanz mit dem Pferd als Einheit“ vereinen zu können, trafen wir 2005 auf Monsieur Philippe Karl. (ehemaliger Ecuyer des Cadre Noir, französische Hofreitschule in Saumur und Gründer der „Ecole de Légèreté“)

 

www.philippe-karl.com

 

Philippe Karl’s Philosophie von Lernverhalten, klaren und effizienten  Vorgehensweisen und dem steten Respekt dem Pferd gegenüber steht im Einklang mit unserer Auffassung von pferdegerechter und sinnvoller Ausbildung.

 

Ab 2005 besuchte ich seine Kurse als Zuschauer und schließlich erhielt ich einen der begehrten Plätze in seiner Reitlehrer-Ausbildung im Jahr 2007.



Im Jahr 2011 bestand ich alle Prüfungsteile und bin seither lizensierte Reitlehrerin der EdL.

 

Die Prüfung bestand aus den Teilprüfungen:

- Kür mit dem eigenen Pferd

- Vorstellung eines eigenen Schülers auf ähnlichem Niveau

- Theorie-Vortrag eines nicht frei wählbaren Themas

- Pädagogikeinheit ( Reitstunde eines unbekannten Pferd,-Reiterpaares)

 

Bis heute bin ich Teilnehmerin seiner fortlaufenden Kurse und werde von Monsieur Karl persönlich unterrichtet.


Dieses Wissen, meine Erfahrungen mit unterschiedlichsten Rassen und Ausbildungslehren, gebe ich in meinen Kursen im In- und Ausland wie auch gerne in Reitstunden bei Ihnen vor Ort, weiter.

 

„… Für mich ist Dressur nur dann als klassisch zu bezeichnen, wenn sie für jedes Pferd da ist, keine Hilfsmittel braucht und für jede reiterliche Disziplin, also auch Springen und Geländereiten,  anwendbar ist.“ (Philippe Karl, Reiterpraxis 2006)

 

Meine besondere Liebe gilt der klassischen Reitkunst im Sinne der Ecole de Légèreté und dem Unterrichten und Fördern einzelner Reiter und ihren Pferden.

 

„Dressage is both a difficult subject to understand and to appreciate, not because of its complexity, though there is that. But because under all of it is a fundamental simplicity which lives in the heart of the horse.“ -Craig P.Stevens 

 

Meine Wunsch ist es, jedem Einzelnen zu ermöglichen, das Gefühl erleben zu dürfen mit seinem Pferd als völlige Einheit in Leichtigkeit zu verschmelzen.
Denn jeder, der dies einmal gespürt hat, wird sein Möglichstes tun um diese Leichtigkeit wieder zu erlangen und zu erhalten.

 

„Good riding is easy for the horse, but difficult for the rider“ - Philippe Karl

 

 

 

Ein Leben reicht nicht aus um gut reiten zu lernen.

Dennoch will ich mein bestes geben.

Für die Pferde, für meine Schüler und für mich.


Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Telefon: +49 (0)163 1769944
E-Mail: info@prohorse.org

 

Folgen Sie uns!

Sponsoring:

Design by: